We’re on a mission to illustrate everything that Cortland County has to offer.


We think Cortland is a pretty cool place and we’re on a mission to illustrate everything that Cortland County has to offer.

Located in the glaciated Appalachian Plateau area of Central New York, midway between Syracuse and Binghamton.

Situated at the gateway to the Finger Lakes, Cortland County is home to a first class theatre with Cortland Repertory Theatre showcasing professional and local talent, local brews from hop heaven at Cortland Beer Company, skiing at the largest ski resort in Central New York.

Cortland (pop. 19,204) is the county seat for Cortland County (pop. 49,336). First settled in 1791 and later incorporated as a city in 1900, Cortland became known as the “Crown City” because of its location on a plain formed by the convergence of seven valleys. Once home to leading industry such as the Wickwire Brothers wire weaving, Brockway Motor Company, and Smith Corona, Cortland now is the home to SUNY Cortland and Tompkins Cortland Community College.

From sharing the story of Cortland’s rich history through its museums, its emerging vibrant art and culture, award winning theatre, music series, eating local, festivals for each season, and outdoor adventures, Cortland County has something for everyone to experience.


Cortland County Towns and Villages


  • First settled around 1795, It was one of the original six towns of Cortland County with an impressive historic district dating from 1830 to 1930. Cincinnatus is home to the Annual Corn Festival, the third Saturday in September.


  • Located in the northeast corner of Cortland County, the scenic east branch of the Tioughnioga River flows southwest through the town.


  • Settled as early as 1800, Freetown is located in the southeast part of Cortland County.


  • The east branch of Owego Creek, part of the Susquehanna River, flows south through Harford and its beautiful rolling hills of upstate New York. Established as a town in 1845, a large part of the town is covered with forests.


  • Named after the Greek poet, Homer was first settled in 1791 and established as a village in 1835. Notable residents include Amelia Jenks Bloomer, a women’s rights activist who’s home still stands on North Main Street, William Stoddard, secretary to President Abraham Lincoln, and Andrew Dickson White, the first president of Cornell University. Homer is home to its historic village green which hosts a variety of festivals throughout the year. The entire village is on the National Register of Historic Places.


  • First settled around 1799, Lapeer is on the south board of Cortland County and is situated on the high ridges west of the Tioughnioga River. Lice Hill is the highest point at 1,600-1,700 feet about tide. Hunt’s Falls, near the south border of the town, is a beautiful cascade about 70 feet high.


  • Home to the Central New York Maple Festival, Marathon is located on the southern border of Cortland County. Marathon is situated on both sides of the Tioughnioga where is flows through the western part in a deep, narrow valley.


  • Incorporated as a village in 1869, McGraw is named after Samuel McGraw and lies to the east of the city of Cortland. Once home to the New York Central College that was founded by Free Baptists in 1849 and closed in 1860. McGraw’s Main Street District is on the National Register of Historic Places since 1986.


  • Found on the north border of Cortland County, Preble was first settled in 1796 and the town of Preble was organized in 1808. Preble is home to Little York Lake and the Little York Pavilion. The Little York Pavilion is an historic trolley park pavilion built around 1906 and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979. Since 1972 the Pavilion has been the home of Cortland Repertory Theatre. Also located just north of Preble is Song Mountain Ski Area.


  • Named after General Winfield Scott, it is located in the northwest corner of Cortland County. Scott was first settled around 1799 and formed as a town in 1815. Nearby is the south end of Skaneateles Lake, part of the Finger Lakes, and the hamlet of Fair Haven and Glen Haven where there is the historic Glen Haven Hotel (now restaurant) and with docking and marina. You’ll also find the Glen Haven District No. 4 School and Public Library, built in 1901 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.


  • Located in the center of the county and east to the city of Cortland, Solon was created in 1798 from part of the town of Homer. Solon is home to the Hatheway Homestead, also known as Tinelli’s Hathaway House, was built in 1844 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.


  • First settled in 1793, and formed in 1849, the town of Taylor is named after General Zachary Taylor, the 12th President of the United States. Mount Roderick is Taylor’s highest point. Taylor was the birthplace to NFL quarterback Gary Wood who played for Cornell University and the New York Giants.


  • Truxton is named for Commodore Thomas Truxtun, a privateer in the American Revolution and one of the US Navy’s first commanding officers. First settled in 1793 and established as a town in 1808, Truxton’s notable resident is baseball legend John McGraw who played for the New York Giants and won three World Series in the early 20th You can find his monument in the middle of the village. Also located in Truxton is the Labrador Hollow Unique Area, a state owned conservation area, and Labrador Mountain Ski Area.


  • Located in the southwest part of Cortland Count, Virgil was formed in 1804. Named in honor of the Roman poet, scenic hills surround Virgil. Virgil is home to Greek Peak Mountain resort since 1958 and Hollenbeck’s Cidermill.


  • First settled back in 1797 and established as a city in 1865, Willet is names after Colonel Marinus Willet and is located in the southeast corner of Cortland County. The Otselic Rivers flows south through the town.